Waiting for the rain to stop

20130607_171410

My walking and fireside companion, Meg.

It’s the second cool and rainy day in a row, and once again I am warming my chilled bones in front of the fire in the cabin. Outside, everything is glowing green, and even though it is overcast, it feels like the forest is lit from within. On my walk, I spotted a large dragonfly sheltering from the rain under a leaf that was hanging over the trail. I’m sure this is not a rare spectacle, but I have lived all my life until now without noticing a dragonfly doing this before. I love how I can walk this tiny patch of forest daily and still encounter new things. I don’t worry that someday I will have seen all the things. I’m pretty sure the more I am here to look, the more I will see20130607_154056

Leave a Reply

